Starting July 1, New Yorker’s can expect to be charged a “crash tax” if they require the Fire Department to come to the rescue.
In these tough economic times, N.Y. will join several other municipalities around the country that are charging motorists involved in accidents for emergency-response services.
The so-called ‘crash tax’ or ‘accident fee’ is in use in twenty-four states, while ten states have banned the practice.
So what are the fees?
A vehicle fire or other incident with injuries will cost $490, while a vehicle fire without injury will cost $415. The charge for a vehicle accident without injury would be $365. The charges will apply to every vehicle that is involved in the crash.
New York City officials project this policy will generate $1 million in annual revenue. A public hearing on the new charges will be held at FDNY headquarters Jan. 14.
The Legal Examiner and our Affiliate Network strive to be the place you look to for news, context, and more, wherever your life intersects with the law.